Blood In Cooked Chicken

The christmas celebration didn’t go uneventful food safety wise for me. I was at a place yesterday where I was offered rice and chicken as part of the xmas celebration. As I was eating I cut a part of the chicken into two and I observed a taint of pinkish color near the core of the chicken part, on peering closely I realized it was blood. It occurred to me that the chicken was not well cooked, a standard recipe for full blown food poisoning. I cut the chicken up into pieces and played around with it on the plate but avoided eating it for my own good.

Bloody parts in cooked chicken is an indication of poor cooking which means the pathogens in the raw chicken have not been destroyed and if consumed, will certainly result in food-borne illness, typically salmonellosis. Photo below is of cooked chicken with bloody inner parts.

Blood In Cooked Chicken.  source: barfblog.com

Blood In Cooked Chicken.
source: barfblog.com

Leave a Reply

